What does my made up training plan look like, you ask? Well, it looks like a whole hell of a lot of running and walking and very little time for things like naps and piñatas. To be more specific, my week looked like this:
Monday - Rest
Tuesday - 1 Hour Run
Wednesday - Rest
Thursday - 1.5 Hour Run
Friday - Rest
Saturday - .5 Hour Run
Sunday - 2 Hour Walk + .5 Hour Run
Saturday's run and today's run were supposed to be an hour each, in theory, but with the way I was feeling, it just wasn't going to happen. So all told I spent 3.5 hours running, 2 hours walking, and covered roughly 24 miles.
Going forward, the runs will increase and the walks will increase and hopefully my tolerance for a piñata free life will increase. (Please, don't ask what's up with me and piñatas today, because the truth is I have no idea. Sometimes a word just gets in my head and since it took me entirely too long to figure out how to type a tilde on this stupid laptop, I'm just going to keep using it, mmkay?)
Though I'm not exactly sure how it'll all flesh out, I think that my training will peak at something like 11 hours of running and walking per week. After Endless Summer I'll probably scale back for a week or two and then ramp back up even higher before I get to North Coast.
Or, maybe I'm completely full of crap and have no idea what I'm talking about. This, truthfully, is much more likely. Fortunately I have lots of very smart friends who have been at this way longer than I have, and I can pick their brains when I realize mine are falling out of my ears.
Aaaannd I have a 5K next weekend and a Half Marathon 2 weeks after that. I keep forgetting about those races. I am NOT looking forward to the 5K, but the Half Marathon in St. Michael's should be fun. Or at least that's what I'm telling myself. We'll see.
I also just registered for another 5K that's in August.
Hey, it's cheaper than gambling, boozing, or doing drugs. (And better for you, I'm told.)
